crankshaft positioning sensor

Category now locked, topics will be moved. Please post in the appropriate make and model category.

Moderator: Mikewire

Locked
blackhalk123
n00b...
n00b...
Posts: 2
Joined: Sep Fri 25, 2009 4:55 pm

crankshaft positioning sensor

Post by blackhalk123 » Oct Fri 16, 2009 8:56 pm

i was wondering if a crank shaft positioning sensor going bad can cause your gas gauge to go crazy i have a 2001 vw beetle

User avatar
MT-Getto
Euro Addict!!!
Euro Addict!!!
Posts: 2718
Joined: Dec Sun 17, 2006 11:46 am
Vehicles: 70 dzl-camper
20VTMK2GLI
A8L, Ubaru, RAM
Location: Fraggle Rock

Re: crankshaft positioning sensor

Post by MT-Getto » Oct Fri 16, 2009 10:07 pm

Welcome to the site :) :thumbsup: Should not be related. Crank shaft position would more likely cause running issues.
It's not how fast you go. It's how well you go fast.

blackhalk123
n00b...
n00b...
Posts: 2
Joined: Sep Fri 25, 2009 4:55 pm

Re: crankshaft positioning sensor

Post by blackhalk123 » Oct Sun 18, 2009 3:46 pm

well it is have car troubles to my pistons are misfiring but i was wondering if that could cause the gauge to freak out to i also accidentally broke my speed sensor so i dont have a speedometer could that cause it and ontop of that my car was stolen the other day but it was returned smashed up so now i want it rekeyed i was wondering how much that might cost me

madeinkorea
n00b...
n00b...
Posts: 10
Joined: Oct Thu 29, 2009 9:41 pm
Location: BILLINGS, MT

Re: crankshaft positioning sensor

Post by madeinkorea » Nov Thu 05, 2009 7:35 pm

if you are missin then that will cause the rpms to move all over the place. if the speedo is brokin it wont affect the drivability of the car. its weird that someone stole your car... it should have an imobilizer built into the cluster...sounds like someone you know took it or did you loose your keys some how...in order to re key you will need to take it to a dealer to get the keys reprogrammed to a new immoblizer code and then you could change the door cylinders but then they probably wouldnt match the ignition key. sorry im rambling if you need help let me back and ill explain it better if you need it, plus i cant spell

Locked